# **GNOPSC** Harbor Safety Committee

Minutes of the Meeting held Wednesday, October 25, 2023

Attendee	Affiliation	Attendee	Affiliation
Jeff Carman	ACBL	John Nee	Moran Towing
Troy Carollo	Blue Water Shipping	Eric Acosta	MSOC/St. Bernard Port
Marc Broussard	Callan Marine	Lisa McGoey	MVTTC
Ed Landgraf	CAMO	Shonna Platt	National Maritime Center
BJ Gisclair	Celtic International	Cynthia Sikorski	National Maritime Center
Jacob Naquin	Conrad Shipyard	Stephen Jones	National Maritime Center
Amy Kenney	E.N. Bisso	Erin McKusker	National Maritime Center
Colin Macpherson	E.N. Bisso	Tim Osborn	NOAA
Ruben Dupre	E.N. Bisso	Jason Ledet	NOBRA Pilots
Jonathan Davis	E.N. Bisso	Toby Wattigney	NOBRA Pilots
Matt Jerabich	ExxonMobil	Brian Eiselen	NOBRA Pilots
Gail Bergeron	GG Bergeron Consulting	Ed Lee	Port of Greater Baton Rouge
Philip Vandercook	Global Maritime Ministries	Elizabeth Gondek	Port of New Orleans
Robert Roussel	Global Maritime Ministries	Josh Gommel	Port of New Orleans
Karl Gonzales	GNOBFA/Cooper Marine	Lester Millet	Port of South Louisiana
Jeff Conner	Ingram Barge	Jeff Roesel	Regional Planning Commission
Patrick Morton	Ingram Barge	Ray Brennan	Romeo Papa Boats
Kevin Cador	Ingram Barge	Tim Croxdale	SDI
Mike Morris	Ingram Barge	Jason Wilbur	SDI
Matt Lagarde	Ingram Barge	Phil Schifflin	Seamen's Church Institute
Farrell Latour	J.H. Menge	Tom Rhoades	Seamen's Church Institute
Ron Branch	Louisiana Maritime Assoc.	Kevin Lordo	Southern Devall
Christine Titus	Louisiana Maritime Assoc.	Thyn Oo	Tulane Public Law Center
Jake Stahl	Marine Expertise	Greg Callaghan	USCG
George Burkley	Maritime Pilots Institute	William Stewart	USCG
Jonathan Pierce	Maritime Pilots Institute	Xiaobin Tuo	USCG
David Beerbohm	McDonough Marine	Meagan Scholten	USCG

The following representatives were in attendance:

The following reports were given:

# Harbor Safety Committee Chairman, Matt Lagarde

Chairman Lagarde called the meeting to order, led introductions, and made general announcements as well as providing updates on statuses of working groups.

Election of 2024 HSC Executive Committee members: in the absence of any nominations from the floor, the proposed slate was moved to a verbal vote. Karl Gonzales made a motion to accept the slate as proposed, and Eric Acosta seconded that motion. All votes were in favor, with zero members present opposed and zero members present abstaining.

#### USCG Sector New Orleans, CAPT Greg Callaghan

CAPT Callaghan expressed gratitude to the HSC membership and subcommittee leadership for their efforts and accomplishments over this year.

## USACE – Vic Landry, Operations Manager

Algiers Lock will reopen to navigation by December 1. Harvey Lock has resumed partial lock operations during daylight hours. Low water impacts are still presenting challenges on all the GIWW locks.

#### NOBRA Pilots – Captain Toby Wattigney

Captain Wattigney thanked CAPT Denning and Sector New Orleans for their efforts in addressing the EPL situation, and reminded everyone that there can be no power limiters on vessels in the river. The Corps has done a great job maintaining the river during this historical low water. The NOBRA pilots are averaging 36 ships/day this month. Low water is still impacting transport.

## CAMO, Ed Landgraf

Ed provided an update on pipeline removal operations, including a recap of year-to-date efforts and an overview of next steps and future plans.

#### Lester Millet, Cybersecurity Subcommittee Co-Chair

Lester provided an update on cybersecurity concerns, recent events, and upcoming opportunities for involvement. which is included with these minutes as Attachment 1. INFRAGRD is still updating their system and not currently accepting new applications. If you have questions about that you can reach out to Lester at <u>lmillet@portsl.com</u>.

#### Lester Millet, Cybersecurity Subcommittee Co-Chair

Eric provided an overview of upcoming events, and recognized Lester Millet for receiving regional and national awards for his work with INFRAGARD. Congratulations Lester! Eric's schedule is included as Attachment 2.

#### **Presentations**

Tim Osborn of NOAA, George Burkley of MPI, and Jason Ledet of NOBRA, Attachment 3

Erin McKusker, Shonna Platt, & Dr. Cyndi Sikorski of the National Maritime Center, Attachment 4

Port Safety Council Chairman Matt Lagarde adjourned the meeting. The next regular meeting of the Port Safety Council is scheduled for January 10, 2024.